Sultans, Kings awarded 1 point each

By Abid Usman

Lahore: Multan Sultans and Karachi Kings were awarded one point each in their PSL 2020 match at the Gaddafi Stadium on Friday.
The unusual outcome came after play was interrupted due to rain which refused to let up. Before the game was paused, Multan Sultans stood at 102-6.
According to a Twitter post by Pakistan Super League at 10:10pm, the covers had been placed on the pitch and the umpires were waiting for rain to stop before an inspection of the ground could be done. The cut off time had been set at 11:18pm but since there was no sign of an end to the downpour, the match was ended with a point each awarded to both sides. Over the course of the Multan Sultan innings, most of the batsmen were out cheaply, getting dismissed under 10 runs. The side stood Opener Moeen Ali managed to score 29 runs off 22 balls before being sent packing off Aamer Yamin’s delivery at 5.4 overs.
After a steady collapse of the first six wickets, Shahid Afridi took charge and added 35 to the scoreboard off 17 deliveries. His partner, Sohail Tanvir posted 10 off 18 deliveries. For the Karachi Kings’ part, Imad Wasim and Aamer Yamin managed to take two wickets each while Mohammad Amir and Umer Khan bagged one each.
The squads
Karachi Kings: Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, AD Hales, CAK Walton (wicketkeeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim (captain), Aamer Yamin, CJ Jordan, MJ McClenaghan, Mohammad Amir, Umer Khan
Multan Sultans: Zeeshan Ashraf (wicketkeeper), Shan Masood (captain), MM Ali, RR Rossouw, RS Bopara, Khushdil Shah, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Ilyas, Imran Tahir, Mohammad Irfan