PTI defeats PML-N with 687 votes in Lahore's PP-168 by-election

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) failed to reclaim its PP-168 Lahore seat with the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Malik Asad Khokhar bagging the seat by 687 votes in the by-elections.

Unofficial results show that Khokhar secured 17,579 votes, while his rival PML-N’s Rana Khalid Mahmood was able to get 16,892 votes.

In the General Elections held on July 25, former federal minister for Railway Khawaja Saad Rafique secured 34,114 votes and defeated the PTI’s Muhammad Fiaz Bhatti.

Rafique, however, had to vacate the seat as he was elected to the National Assembly from NA-131 Lahore

In the wake of the election win,Prime Minister Imran Khan, Punjab Chief Minister Sardar Usman Buzdar along with other leaders congratulated him on the win.

Buzdar said the people of Lahore had expressed their confidence in premier Khan’s polices by taking to the ballot boxes.

He highlighted that the result has proved that people are satisfied with the anti-corruption drive of the government.

The Punjab CM said the PML-N had to face this defeat owing to their policies during their government’s tenure.