PML-N still short of 272 ticket holders for NA seats

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) is going to contest the upcoming general elections from around 213-National Assembly seats out of a total of 272 constituencies, said a well-placed official in the party.
The party continues to delay the announcement of the remaining tickets for National and Provincial Assemblies. PML-N’s central office continued to assure the media of announcing its complete candidate’s list.
However, the announcement was not made and the party declared to announce the tickets on Saturday (today).
It is pertinent to mention that June 29 was the last day for the candidates to submit their nomination papers to contest the general elections or to withdraw their papers.
Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) will announce the polling scheme and final list of candidates with electoral symbols on Saturday (today). It was mandatory for the candidates to submit their party tickets in order to be allotted electoral symbols, according to the rules. Candidates who have failed to do so would be considered as independent candidates.
ECP will be displaying the final list of candidates at the offices of the returning officers and district returning officers on Saturday (today).
According to media, PML-N was contesting from roughly 133 seats from Punjab out of a total of 141 seats. It pitched around 38 candidates from a total of 61 constituencies in Sindh and fielded 12 candidates out of 16 constituencies.
With regards to Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (K-P), the party has fielded candidates on 27 constituencies. PML-N has not fielded any candidate from Fata which has a total of 12 constituencies. However, the party has announced candidates for all the three Islamabad constituencies.