Opposition divided as PPP sticks to Aitzaz Ahsan as presidential candidate

ISLAMABAD: Consensus continues to elude the opposition as political parties remain divided over fielding a joint candidate for the forthcoming presidential election.

The Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), which nominated Aitzaz Ahsan as its presidential candidate, is sticking to its choice and has rejected the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s objections to its presidential nominee.
Veteran PPP leader Khursheed Shah said earlier today that he is hopeful PML-N will make a positive decision after taking into consideration his party’s choice.
PML-N and PPP will have to resolve their differences and move forward together, he said, adding that PPP’s candidate for presidency is the candidate of all of Pakistan.
PPP has reportedly sought JUI-F leader Maulana Fazlur Rehman’s assistance on the matter. The latter is also expected to meet PML-N President Shehbaz Sharif today.
On Saturday, political leaders said that opposition parties had agreed to field a joint candidate in the presidential election.
Speaking to media after a conference of opposition parties held in Murree, PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal said the name of the candidate would be announced today as PPP members had asked for some time to take their leadership into confidence over the discussion.

Last day to submit nomination papers on Monday

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has asked candidates to submit their nomination papers for the presidential election by Monday, August 27.
Candidates can file their nomination papers with presiding officers in Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar and Quetta till 12 noon.
The Chief Election Commissioner will conduct scrutiny of the nomination papers in Islamabad on Wednesday at 10am.
Candidates will have until Thursday, August 30 to withdraw their nomination papers, after which the final list will be made public on the same day.
Polling for the presidential election will be held on September 4.
The president is elected by an electoral college comprising members of the Senate, National Assembly, and the four provincial assemblies. Voting is held through a secret ballot.