Kings topple United by 5 wickets

By Ashgar Ali Mubarak

RAWALPINDI: Wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi and captain Shadab Khan steered Islamabad United to 183 for three with an unbeaten 106-run fourth wicket partnership in day/night T20 match in the fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League here at the Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on Sunday.
After being put into bat by the Kings, the United made a disastrous start losing their first wicket for just 2 runs in the second over and later they lost two more wickets.
The total was 73 for three when Ronchi was joined by Shadab and both batsmen took the score to 183 in the allotted 20 overs.
Islamabad United made two changes to the squad. Skipper Shadab Khan said that Malan had been benched to play right-arm fast bowler Dale Steyn. Amad Butt will sit this one out as Mohammad Rizwan has been included in the side to bring some depth into the Islamabad batting.
“The pitch will have some dew because of the rain,” said Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim. “Mohammad Amir will use the pitch conditions to his advantage.” He said that teams should not depend on individuals to win matches.
Lead by young leg-spinner Shadab, United boasts the likes of experienced foreign and national players. From South African pacer Dale Steyn to Colin Ingram, adding master-blaster Luke Ronchi to the mix, with a pinch of Phil Salt and David Munro, United have a perfect blend.
Adding to that are a local crop of all-rounders such as Faheem Ashraf and Hussain Talat, with Mohammad Musa and Ruman Raees bringing the pace.
On the other hand, Karachi will be depending a lot on Babar Azam to provide them with a strong platform.
With the likes of Alex Hales, Sharjeel Khan and Awais Zia, Mohammad Rizwan in the batting department and Mohammad Amir, Umaid Asif and Chris Jordan in the bowling department, one can expect an epic match between the two sides today.
The match between Islamabad United and Karachi Kings will be played at 7pm.
Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (captain), Luke Ronchi (wk), Ahmad Butt, Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Muhammad Musa, Rizwan Hussain, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Zafar Gohar, Phil Salt, Akif Javed, Dawid Malan, Saif Badar, Ahmed Safi Abdullah
Karachi Kings: Imad wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Amir, Aamir Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Ali Khan, Chadwick Walton, Umaid Asif, Mitchell McClenaghan, Awais Zia, Arshad Iqbal.