Junior selection committee announce U19 squads for six Cricket Associations

Sports Desk

Lahore: The national junior selection committee headed by former Test fast bowler Saleem Jaffer today announced the U19 squads of the six cricket associations.
According to the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), the squads would compete in the National U19 three-day and one-day tournaments as part of the domestic season 2020-21.
The open trails for the selection of the squads were held from 16-19 September and around 7000 players took part in the open trials at major cricket centres of all Cricket Associations.
After a two-day open trial activity, 40 players were shortlisted for each of the six Cricket Associations, who featured in trial matches, on 18 and 19 September, to make their way in the final 20-player squads.
The National One-Day Tournament will begin from 13 October and National Three-Day Tournament from 5 November.
The U19 season commences with the first round of the one-day fixtures between the six teams at three venues (LCCA Ground, Gaddafi Stadium and Country Club Ground Muridke) on Tuesday, 13 October.
Saleem Jaffar, Chairman of the National Junior Selection Committee:
“We tried to give maximum opportunities to the players who turned-up for the open trials, I am happy with the final merit-based selection of the six squads and we are all encouraged by the massive turn-out at the trials across the country.”
“I am hopeful of a competitive U19 cricket season as this stage is a stepping stone for these players towards professional cricket. We have produced some world-class players in the past from the same stage and this year too we should have some talented players emerge from the three-day and one-day events,” he added.
Meanwhile, the first Covid-19 tests of the six squads including the team officials will take place on Saturday in Lahore and the second test will be held on Sunday.
Central and Southern Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Northern will be tested at the PC Hotel. Players based in Lahore would also be tested at the PC Hotel on the same day.
Sindh and Balochistan squads will also be tested at their central station at Muridke Country Club; all six squad members clearing the test will then enter the Bio-Secure zone in Lahore.
Cricket Association squads for National U19 three-day and one-day tournaments:
Balochistan: Mohammad Ibrahim snr (C), Yasir Khan (VC), Abdul Ghaffar, Abu Huraira, Adil Ahmed Khan, Ali Ahmed, Aurangzeb, Bashir Ahmed, Basit Ali, Faiz Ullah, Haseeb Ullah, Hikmat Ullah, Jahangir Khan, Kabir Raj, Khalid Khan, Mohammad Ayaz, Mohammad Ibrahim jnr, Mohammad Ismail, Mohammad Salman, Wajid Ali
Team officials: Hussain Buksh Khosa –Coach cum Manager, Mazhar Deenari –Assistant Coach, Ramzan Silachi –Strength & Conditioning Coach, Asad Ahmed –Physio,  Hassan Ahmed –Analyst
Central Punjab: Muhammad Hurraira (C), Umer Eman (VC), Abu Bakar, Afzaal Manzoor, Ali Asfand, Ali Hassan, Arham Nawab, Asad Raza, Bilal Munir, Hasnaat Abbas, Hunain Shah, Khalid Khan, Malik Abdul Rafay, Muhammad Waqas (WK), Muneeb Wasif, Muneeb Zafar, Rameez Imran, Saad Waseem, Saeed Ali, Sameer Saqib
Team officials: Tanveer Shaukat- Coach cum  Manager, Irfan Fazil -Assistant Coach, Waheed Niazi -Strength & Conditioning Coach, Zohaib Akram- Physio, Mansoor Ali- Analyst
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa: Abbas Ali (C), Nasir Faraz (VC), Adnan Akbar, Ahmad Khan, Ayaz Shah, Hanif Ur Rehman, Haris Khan, Haseeb Khan, Ismail Khan, Izhar Ahmad, Maaz Ahmad Sadaqat, Muhammad Farooq, Muhammad Hasnain, Naqeeb Ullah, Salman Khan, Shahid Aziz, Shahid Khan, Usman Shah, Zeeshan Ahmad, Zubair Shinwari
Team officials: Saqib Faqir- Coach cum Manager, Muhammad Siddiq- Assistant Coach, Fazal Wahab- Strength & Conditioning Coach, Muhammad Tahir- Physio, Zain-ul-Abdeen- Analyst
Northern: Mohammad Raza ul Mustafa (C), Mubasar Khan (VC), Abdul Faish, Adil Naz, Asif Khan, Faizan Saleem, Hasan Abid Kiani, Haseeb Imran, Hussain, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Asim Sufaid, Mohammad Hamza Shahid, Mehran Mumtaz, Muhammad Ali Taj, Muhammad Shoaib Khan, Osama Afridi, Rehmat Shah, Sajjad Khan, Sher Abdur Rehman, Zaman Khan
Team officials: Bilal Ahmed –Coach cum Manager, Fahad Akram –Assistant Coach, Mujahid Shah –Strength & Conditioning Coach, Wassam Akbar Khan –Physio, Syed Afrasayab –Analyst
Sindh: Saim Ayub (C), Kashif Ali (VC), Aaliyan Mehmood, Adeel Meo, Asif Ali, Asim Ali, Fardeen Shaikh, Haider Razzaq, Hassan Jafri, Mubashir Nawaz, Muhammad Ghazi Ghori, Muhammad Sikandar, Muhammad Umar, Rehman, Rizwan Mehmood, Salman Khan, Shahryyar Rizvi, Syed Ali Naseem, Syed Zeeshan Zameer, Talha Ahsan