After debacle in Maharashtra, BJP suffers in West Bengal

New Delhi: The Trinamool Congress sprung back to life with victories in all three assembly constituencies that went to bypolls in West Bengal. In the results that were declared Thursday morning, TMC not only retained the Karimnagar seat, but wrested Kaliaganj and Kharagpur from the Congress and the BJP.
In a close contest, TMC candidate Tapan Deb Singha defeated BJP’s Kamal Chandra Sarkar by a margin of 2,304 votes in Kaliaganj. The by-election was necessitated by the death of Congress’s Parmathanath Roy. However, the grand-old party is unlikely to  derive much confidence from its performance in what is seen as its stronghold as it was pushed to the third spot. TMC’s Bimalendy Singha Roy won the Karimpur seat easily by defeating BJP’s Jay Prakash Majumdar by 24,119 votes.–Agencies